Monday 12 June 2023

13 more countries now qualify for visa-free travel to Canada

June 6, 2023, 11:30 a.m.—Winnipeg 

Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, announced the addition of 13 countries to the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program. Travellers from these countries who have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or who currently hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now apply for an eTA instead of a visa when travelling to Canada by air. 

Effective today, eligible travellers from these 13 countries qualify for the program:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay

Quick facts

The eTA is a digital travel document that most visa-exempt travellers need in order to travel to or transit through Canada by air.

The eTA application is used by Canadian officials to conduct light-touch, pre-travel screening of air travellers. It costs CAN$7 to apply, and most applications are automatically approved within minutes.

To apply for an eTA, travellers need only a valid passport, a credit card, an email address and access to the Internet.

Within the next year, Canada expects to receive 200,000 (or 20%) more visitors from these 13 countries. 

Within a decade, increased travel from these countries is expected to bring almost $160 million in additional tourism revenue.

Full details of this announcement

Find out about Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)

No comments:

Post a Comment